Are Club Crackers Vegan? The Ultimate Vegan Cracker Guide

Yes, Club crackers are seen as vegan. They don’t have honey, meat, eggs, dairy, or any obviously non-vegan-friendly ingredient. The only controversial component is the sugar, whose processing may or may not involve bone char. 

This article will go over each ingredient in Club Crackers and what makes them vegan. We’ll also explore why sugar may be considered non-vegan. So keep reading. 

What Makes Club Crackers Vegan?

Club crackers are considered vegan because they do not have non-vegan ingredients. The best way to test this hypothesis is by doing an in-depth ingredient breakdown. Club crackers are made with a combination of:

  • Flour 
  • Vitamin B2
  • Soybean oil 
  • Sugar
  • Salt 
  • High fructose corn syrup 
  • Baking soda 

Each of these ingredients is considered vegan because they are not animal-derived. The processing for all these ingredients, excluding sugar, does not include animal products or by-products. 

Even with sugar, there is only a slight possibility that bone char was used. Since most vegans aim for around 98% veganism and not 100%, since that is impossible in today’s food manufacturing industry, even the sugar can be considered vegan-friendly. 

What Makes Flour Vegan?

Flour is vegan because its main ingredients are plant-based, and it’s a product of organic grains. Moreover, flour production does not involve animal cruelty, making it ideal for vegans. 

Wheat is a plant and, as such, is considered vegan-friendly. Flour is mainly processed wheat, so you shouldn’t worry about it unless you have a wheat allergy. 

What Makes Vitamin B2 Vegan?

Vitamin B2 is a nutrient and has no relation to any animal-derived product. Moreover, it is super healthy for all people to eat, and any food sources that contain it should be consumed, especially by vegans. 

This is because the most common sources of Vitamin B2 are eggs and other animal products that vegans can’t consume. So it is more than likely that many vegans are deficient in this nutrient. 

Eating Club Crackers is an easy way to make up for this deficiency. They taste good and are nutritious too. 

What Makes Soybean Oil Vegan?

Soybean oil is derived from soybeans which are a vegetable and considered vegan. Most people consider it suitable for vegan diets and lifestyles. 

There are some unfounded rumors that soybean oil is the only vegetable oil that isn’t vegan, but that isn’t true. Some store-bought oils might have non-vegan additives, but that is rare. 

Moreover, this falls into the 2% wiggle room that vegans have. 

What Makes Salt Vegan?

Salt is mostly sodium chloride. This substance is mined and then processed into salt. As such, it is not animal-derived and is vegan. 

The processing does not involve any animal products or by-products either. This makes it 100% vegan-friendly, and you can’t find anything better than that.

What Makes High fructose Corn Syrup Vegan?

High fructose corn syrup is derived from corn starch. It is a mixture of fructose and glucose. A medium of special enzymes and corn syrup is used to make it. There have been controversies about the health impacts of high fructose corn syrup, but there are no questions about it being vegan-friendly. 

This syrup also has a corn derivative. Since corn is a plant, there are no issues with vegans consuming food with corn syrup. 

What Makes Baking Soda Vegan?

Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate, a chemical compound that does not involve animal-derived products and is a naturally occurring mineral source. Minerals are not living organisms and are not afforded the same respect that vegans give to animals. 

What Makes Sugar Controversial? 

Sugar is derived from sugar cane which is a plant. The issue is that the processing of this plant-derived product sometimes involves bone char. 

Bone char comes from crushed cow bones. This, of course, does not respect the animals the bones come from and is not okay for vegans. At the same time, there are several alternatives to bone char that are used commonly. 

There is no way to know whether the sugar in Club crackers uses bone char or not. So this is a huge gray area. 

Most vegans are okay with eating sugar because there is no way to be sure. For them, this falls in the 2% wiggle room. This wiggle room is important because, while veganism is a strict diet, nobody can be completely vegan unless they grow their crops and manage their food supply themselves. 

If you eat manufactured food, there will always be a tiny possibility of a non-vegan process having been used. As such, simply because the alternative is super impractical, vegans give themself some room to relax, and sugar falls in this wiggle room. 

Final Thoughts

Club crackers are considered vegan because they don’t have eggs, dairy, or other animal-derived products. The only controversial ingredient is sugar, whose processing may involve bone char. 

Even so, since the probability of bone char having been used is quite slim and since there is no way to be sure it happened, vegans consume sugar. You can get vegan-friendly sugar when making food, but the same can’t be done for sugar used in manufactured goods. 

Furthermore, Club crackers have vitamin B2, which is an essential nutrient. There are many health benefits of including it in your diet, so eating Club crackers will help improve your health. There are some doubts about whether high fructose corn syrup is good for you, but there isn’t enough research to confirm these claims. 

If you liked this article, please check out our take on whether or not Tahini is vegan.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)