Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegetarian?

With rumours floating around saying Jack in the Box tacos are made using textured vegetable protein (soy meat), you might have been led into thinking that this is a vegetarian item.

In today’s article, we will find out how true this claim actually is and also share some other healthy options that you can try when you are at Jack in the Box. 

This fast food chain has been around since quite a while and vegetarian or not, we all love to take a bite of their juicy burgers and fries once in a while. 

So without any further ado, let us answer the question: Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegetarian?

Are They Vegetarian? 

No! Sadly, Jack in the Box tacos are not vegetarian since they contain both meat and beef. Furthermore, even if they were vegan, cross contamination would have occurred anyway, given the environment of the restaurant. 

These tacos which have been a constant hit in their menu since the 1950s are quite crispy and often mistaken to be vegetarian due to the soy-resembling softness.  

There is one good news though: Unlike other fast food chains which cook their food in animal fat for added flavor, Jack in the Box offers an option in which they prepare your meal using canola oil. This makes it suitable for not only vegetarians but also vegans. Let us know more about their delectable tacos. 

Fun fact: Jack in the Box has been around for nearly 60 years and there was a time when a burger just used to cost 18 cents! Its founder Robert O. Peterson has plenty of legendary food-based inventions under his name. 

What is in Jack in the Box Tacos? 

If you look at the box content proportions of this taco, you will notice that the amount of soy (51%) is slightly more than beef (41%). 

The final ingredient list of your taco depends on the kind of toppings and fillings you add in. As for the chicken and beef, they are mainly added in order to improve the texture of the filling. This also raises the health quotient by adding some more protein in the item. 

Here is what it contains: 

Filling Ingredients

  • Soy flour
  • Defatted Soy Grits
  • Seasoning
  • Tomato Paste
  • Worcestershire Sauce 
  • Beef
  • Salt
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Natural flavors
  • Hydrolyzed Corn
  • Wheat Proteins
  • Chicken
  • Water

Tortilla Ingredients

  • Lime
  • Ground Corn
  • Water
  • Canola Frying Oil

The reason why this mass assumption regarding their vegetarian nature spread is some misinformed employees who answered questions on Reddit saying that these tacos were vegetarian. Since it was the employee himself who answered the question, everyone simply believed it. To add on to this, this fast food chain has been around for over 50 years, easily being able to win people’s trust. But as it turns out, the reality is totally opposite. 

Vegetarian Options at Jack in the Box 

The heavy amount of customizability that you get with Jack in the Box is what truly makes it extraordinary. Be it a vegan meal plan or a vegetarian one, you can tailor your dishes in accordance with your needs. For example, when taking a burger, you can request them to swap the meat with cheese or add a tasty assortment of veggies instead.

Furthermore, there are plenty of items in their menu which both vegans and vegetarians can try. Have a look at a few of them: 

  • Onion rings
  • Cranberry muffins
  • Mini pancakes 
  • Grilled cheese 
  • Hash brown 
  • Homestyle potatoes 
  • Hashbrown
  • Apple slices 

Did you know? When launched, the Jumbo Jack was the biggest burger of its time, leaving even the likes of Big Mac behind. This record stayed unbeaten for a good 28 years (1971-1999). 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Now that we have established the fact that Jack in the Box tacos are not vegetarian, let us look at some questions that revolve around the topic. 

What Are Some Healthy Meal Options at Jack in the Box?

Unlike conventional fast food chains which rely on deep fried and processed food, here you can get plenty of healthy options at an affordable price. You can go with their signature salad which is a perfect blend of carbs, proteins and fats. For non-veg lovers, their chicken nuggets are worth a try. 

Which is the Most Calorie-rich Meal You Can Buy at Jack in the Box?

While most fried options do contain a considerable amount of calories, nothing beats their iconic ‘Stacked grilled cheese burger’, which when paired with a drink adds more than 2000 calories to your daily intake. Items that contain cheese and bacon also contain a heavy caloric punch.

What are Some Good Fast Food Restaurants for Vegetarians and Vegans? 

While most fast food chains offer non-vegetarian options, Burger King has a vegan and vegetarian line of offerings that may be of interest to many. Aside from this, if you want vegetarian taco options, Taco Bell has some great options. 

Summing Up 

If you are a new convert or someone who was led to believe the false rumours, better late than never. Jack in the Box tacos contain definite signs of meat-based products and its derivatives, labelling them strictly non-vegetarian. 

That said, there are plenty of vegetarian options that you can try too. Their versatile menu has a lot to offer for everyone’s liking. Lastly, if you want a vegetarian version of Jack in the Box tacos, click here.

Head over to for more food related tips and updates. 

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)