Are M&Ms Vegan? You Should Read This

In addition to being one of the most popular candies worldwide, M&Ms have been around for over 80 years. They are available in more than 100 countries, and the most popular variety is the peanut M&M. 

If you wonder whether M&Ms are vegan, you are not alone. Many vegans have been asking this question lately. Being vegan is a choice, and vegans are generally very particular about making food choices.

Read on to find out all about M&Ms and the answer to ‘Are M&Ms vegan?’

Why are M&Ms so Famous?

M&Ms are very popular and loved by people of all ages. Their bright and colorful look, the candy shells, and the chocolate filling make M&Ms unique. 

One of the reasons for the popularity of M&Ms is that these all-time favorite candies are artistic creations. People simply love the colorful coating and chocolate or peanut insides. 

Due to the popularity of the candy, the manufacturer later launched many different varieties of the same candy. People can now choose between caramel, dark chocolate, peanut butter, or plain M&Ms. 

Are M&Ms Vegan?

Despite the lovely M&M options out there, the sad news for vegans is that none of the numerous flavors of M&Ms are vegan. 

These include dark chocolate, mint peanut, and mint M&Ms. These M&M varieties are non-vegan. And unfortunately, the manufacturer does not have any plans to change that.

The good news is that there are several vegan M&M alternatives to choose from. You might even like these creative options more than the original.

The company announced in a heartbreaking tweet that M&Ms are not vegan as they contain some traces of animal products. The company did not disclose any further details about the precise ingredients which make the beloved M&Ms non-vegan. 

However, the company stated that they are not listed because the non-vegan ingredients are minimal. The manufacturer uses several ingredients for optimum flavor and texture, and they can’t provide further details.

Why Choose Non-Vegan Foods?

Being a vegan centers on love for animals, our co-inhabitants in this world. Dedicated vegans display their love and affection for animals by giving up all products that come from animals, including meat, milk, eggs, etc. 

M&Ms are not suitable for vegans because they are made with milk products and other ingredients that come from animals. They also use food coloring tested on animals. 

Let’s look at the ingredients used in M&Ms.

What Ingredients Are Used in M&Ms?

The following ingredients are used in M&Ms:

  • Milk chocolate (chocolate, sugar, skimmed milk, cocoa butter, milk fat, soy lecithin, lactose, natural & artificial flavors, salt)
  • Cornstarch
  • Sugar
  • No more than 1% corn syrup 
  • Dextrin
  • Coloring
  • Gum acacia
  • Carnauba wax

Some ingredients are vegan and perfectly safe, but others are not. 

Non-Vegan Ingredients in M&Ms

Here are the non-vegan ingredients in M&Ms:

Milk Chocolate

The milk chocolate in M&Ms has three non-vegan ingredients: lactose, milk fat, and skim milk. Anyone who is a true vegan will not consume any of these ingredients, even inside delectable M&Ms.

The following ingredients are a complete disaster as they make M&M so tempting. These are the food coloring and natural flavors. 

Natural Flavor

This term implies that a natural source has been used to obtain the M&M flavor. Because M&Ms contain non-vegan elements, it is likely that the natural flavors may also be non-vegan.

Food Coloring

The vibrant rainbow colors of M&Ms are created with artificial colors. While the manufacturer does use vegan colors, these food colors are tested on animals, making these artificial colors completely unacceptable for vegans. 

Even if the M&Ms have chocolate that melts in your mouth, flavors that tempt, and attractive colors, vegans simply cannot enjoy them because these ingredients come from animals or cause them harm.

Are M&Ms Safe for Vegetarians?

While a true vegan does not consume any food derived from animals, vegetarians are more flexible. Vegetarians often avoid meat; however, they consume dairy products. 

Because M&Ms do not have any traces of flesh, meat, or enzymes, they are vegetarian-friendly. So if you are a vegetarian, you can go ahead and get your favorite M&Ms. 

Here are some of the best M&Ms for vegetarians:

  • Caramel M&Ms
  • Dark chocolate M&Ms
  • Mint dark M&Ms
  • Crispy M&Ms
  • White chocolate M&Ms

However, vegans are firm believers in animal love and cannot tolerate even a trace of animal products. 

M&M Alternatives for Vegans

Because the convictions of a vegan are stronger than their desire for M&Ms, you will be able to avoid the temptation very easily. 

The good news for vegans is that there are several amazing vegan-friendly alternatives to M&Ms that you can enjoy. They have similar flavors and textures and the right ingredients for you. You may be pleasantly surprised that some taste even better than M&Ms. 

Try some of the following, and you are likely to find your perfect alternative to M&Ms.

Little secrets – Dark chocolate pieces

Chocolate No Nos – No Whey Foods

Toasted coconut – Dark chocolate pieces

Peppermint No Nos – No Whey Foods

Dark chocolate crispy quinoa gems – Unreal

Chocolate sea salt – Chocomels

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)