Are Slurpees Vegan? (We Have The Answer!)

A sip from our favorite sugary, icy Slurpee slushies can be the greatest summer delight and a winter adventure. But like for every other food item, we vegans often wonder, “Are Slurpees vegan?” And yes, we have the answer!

If you’re on a 100% plant-based diet and want to know if your favorite Slurpees are vegan or not, you’ve landed on the right page.

Ahead, we will break down all about Slurpees, their ingredients, and everything related to them. But in short, yes, Slurpees are vegan (barring, of course, the creamy Slurpees with ice cream). Read on to find out everything!

What Are Slurpees Made Of?

Popular as the 7-Eleven Slurpee, the drink is our entire childhood, packed in colorful cups and topped with cute straws. But even as adults, we all love this icy, slurpy, fizzy, and carbonated frozen drink.

It is a non-alcoholic frozen drink (which many of us like to spike now and then) containing the following ingredients:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Sugar (High fructose corn syrup)
  • Food Acids
  • Flavor
  • Color
  • Caffeine

So, it is clear that none of the ingredients is animal-based. So, although they contain natural and artificial flavors, your cold Slurpees are cruelty-free and vegan.

Do Slurpees Contain Dairy?

Many of us follow strict dietary rules for our day-to-day. And Slurpees generally easily pass most dietary rules and regulations.

For most of their flavours, Slurpees are certified kosher, both pareve and dairy. Some creamy Slurpees might be an exception, though.

Some variants like orange and cream Slurpees or other creamy Slurpees might contain dairy (cream) for better flavor and texture. And these are the slushies that vegans can avoid consuming.

Can Vegans Drink Slurpees?

Absolutely! As we just discovered for ourselves, your favorite 7-Eleven Slurpees are made out of sugar and nature-identical or artificial flavors.

This means they are 100% plant-based and do not use animal products or ingredients. That’s why vegans can, rest assured, drink Slurpees without no worries whatsoever.

Slurpees Flavors That Are Certified Vegan

Slurpee slushies are the most popular for their fizzy flavors. So, do any of these flavors contain animal products, or are they all vegan? Let us find out!

  1. Hawaiian Punch

Although most Slurpees are carbonated, the Hawaiian Punch Slurpee is an exception. This slushie is made out of the iconic Hawaiian Punch drink, which uses ingredients like natural fruits, juices and natural flavors.

The slushie’s main ingredients are water, high fructose corn syrup, concentrated juices, including apple, clarified pineapple, passionfruit, and orange. It also contains fruit purees, including apricot, papaya, and guava.

It also contains ascorbic acid, pectin, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, acacia gum, and ester gum, among others. Thus, this Hawaiian Punch Slurpee is vegan.

  1. Coca Cola

Coke in itself is a vegan product. Combine it with Slurpee formula; you get a perfectly vegan iced slushie drink that you can enjoy to beat the heat.

Of course, no one knows the exact ingredients of the delicious coke, but the brand claims that it doesn’t use any animal products to make the classic coca-cola.

The prospective ingredients are as follows: carbonated water, fructose, food color, phosphoric acid, caffeine, and natural flavors. Thus, Coke Slurpee is vegan as well.

  1. Fanta Orange

This is a Coca-Cola product as well. Again, Fanta’s exact formulation is unknown, but the brand claims the product to be 100% vegan. That’s why Fanta Slurpees are vegan too.

Fanta Slurpee ingredients include orange juice from concentrate, carbonated water, sugars, citrus fruit from concentrate, vegetable extracts (carrot and pumpkin, to be precise), potassium sorbate, sweeteners, acidity regulator, malic acid, guar gum, natural orange flavorings with other natural flavorings, antioxidant (ascorbic acid).

  1. Mountain Dew

This Slurpee is also vegan as the recipe contains only natural or artificial flavors, water, and sugar when we broadly consider it. So, again, vegans can slurp on this delicious preparation without any worries.

The ingredients include carbonated water, fructose corn syrup, orange juice from concentrate, citric acid, natural and artificial flavoring agents, preservatives, caffeine, citric acid, ascorbic acid, and acacia gum, vegetable oil emulsifier, artificial colors, among others.

  1. Dr. Pepper

Dr. Pepper has so many flavors and most of them are used in Slurpees. But the good news is that Dr. Pepper doesn’t use any animal products. That’s why Dr. Pepper Slurpees are also vegan.

This flavor, again, is a coke product. And here are the ingredients: carbonated water, sugar, color (caramel e150d), phosphoric acid, preservative (potassium sorbate), flavorings including caffeine, sweeteners (aspartame, acesulfame K). It also contains a source of phenylalanine.

All flavors and colors used in a Dr. Pepper Slurpee are vegan-friendly for consumption.

Other Vegan Slurpee Flavors

Of course, 7-Eleven Slurpees are not limited to these five flavors. There are so many that we can’t name all of them. But apart from these five, we have mentioned a few more blockbuster Slurpee flavors that are vegan as well.

Here we have compiled a list of a few more vegan Slurpee flavors so that you can slurp on them without giving a second thought about animal-derived products being present in them.

  • Pina Colada
  • Sprite
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Vitamin Water Squeezed Lemonade
  • Cherry

If you’re still unsure about any of them, you can also give Icee a try. The new certified-vegan slushie drink in the town is gaining traction.


Rest assured, our favorite and bestseller, 7-Eleven Slurpees, are all vegan and animal-product-free. Most of them contain a high amount of sugar and natural or artificial flavors for a taste of fun in our fizzy iced drink.

If you’re unsure about any of the Slurpees, you can choose their best alternatives: Icees. As per our analysis, as mentioned earlier, of Slurpee ingredients of the bestselling flavors, you can drink a Slurpee if you’re a vegan.

They are also kosher. And these slushies will also meet quite diverse dietary requirements (except the sugar-free diet, of course)!

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)