Are Spaghettios Vegan? How To Identify If It’s Vegan Or Not!

For many people, Spaghettios are their childhood. They are a staple of the Campbells soup line. Tasty flavor, good serving size, and the product varieties make them popular among the masses. Due to all these factors, many people, including vegans, crave this delicious soup.

Therefore, many people wonder if Spaghettios are vegan or not. It is worth mentioning that the original canned soup does not possess any meatballs. So, is it vegan? The answer is No, and we will show why. Let us look at Spaghettios, its ingredients, and thoroughly break down everything you need to know.

Spaghettios Ingredients List

To identify whether Spaghettios is vegan or not, we need to look at its ingredient list. The items listed are used to make the Original Spaghettios canned soup:

  • Water
  • Tomato purée (includes water and tomato paste)
  • Enriched pasta, made with various ingredients including wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Salt
  • Vegetable oil
  • Enzyme modified cheddar cheese
  • Enzyme modified butter
  • Skim milk
  • Citric acid
  • Paprika extract
  • Onion extract
  • Flavoring

You may have already spotted several questionable ingredients that make it unfit for vegans to eat. For instance, enzyme-modified cheese and butter are dairy products; hence, they are not suitable for vegans. However, if you are a vegetarian, there’s no issue regarding this matter.

Skim milk is another concerning ingredient that may cause issues for vegans. It is not vegan by default. Furthermore, we all know how ambiguous the natural flavors are. They may or may not be vegan friendly due to the processes used by Campbell to create the soup. 

Manufacturers do not explicitly tell about these production processes. Therefore, there’s no way to know if natural flavors are suitable for vegans or not. The bottom line is that original Spaghettios do not support veganism due to its several non-vegan ingredients.

Are All Spaghettios Not Vegan?

Is there only one variant of Spaghettios? Actually, No. You can find tons of other types of this soup, but do they fit with the vegan standards? Unfortunately, these other varieties are not vegan-friendly. 

For instance, the Spaghettios produced with Franks include the same anti-vegan ingredients as the original one. Additionally, it also contains chicken and pork frankfurters made with animal products like chicken, beef, etc. If any canned soup includes meat, it is non-vegan from every aspect. 

Spaghettios with Meatball are not any exception because they include the non-vegan ingredient known as meatballs. Only the original version of the soup does not have any meat product. 

Are Spaghettios Vegetarian?

Technically, yes. If you are consuming the Original Spaghettios, you need not worry as they contain all the vegetarian ingredients. However, they are not suitable for vegans due to the reasons mentioned above. 

Some vegetarians may have issues consuming the dairy by-products like cheese or milk. In the end, it’s up to you whether you want to classify this soup as vegetarian or not. 

Spaghettios varieties are definitely non-vegetarian soups because they include the animal-based ingredient. Either way, your choice is limited if you look for veg options in Spaghettios.

Making Spaghettios at Home

It is almost impossible to find vegan Spaghettios in the market. However, there’s some good news, as you can make your own vegan-friendly soup in the comfort of your home.

Another prominent advantage is that you will know what is going inside your body. You will not have to worry about those non-vegan products that may have sneaked into your dinner without your permission. To make the best vegan Spaghettios, you will need these ingredients:

Ingredients

Instructions

First, start by assembling two pots to cook the soup. Now, boil the water for pasta in one pot and leave the second pot as it is. We will use it for tomato sauce.

Now, add the tomato sauce to the pot with a little bit of soy milk. Furthermore, you will add salt, paprika, onion powder, one spoon of vegan margarine, and a little sugar nutritional yeast. Once you have gathered all ingredients in the second pot, thoroughly mix them.

Now, boil the newly formed sauce. Finally, add it to the pasta noodles when it gets ready.

Notes

You have prepared the homemade soup in a bulk and now are unsure where to keep it. Don’t worry, as you can even store it in the refrigerator. If you are a vegetarian, using this recipe would benefit you. This will ensure that you do not consume any animal products or too many dairy products.

Possible Vegan-Friendly Alternative – Heinz Spaghetti Hoops

Spaghettios may not be suitable for vegans, but there are definitely other alternatives in the market that are more vegan-friendly. For instance, Heinz Spaghetti Hoops may suffice your taste buds with a good touch of vegan-friendly ingredients. 

Heinz is a company that is famous for ketchup and spaghetti that are suitable for vegans. In fact, it doesn’t include any animal-based products like skim milk or enzyme-modified cheese in its recipe. However, only the basic Spaghetti Hoops are suitable for vegans, as other varieties contain animal products.

Some soup varieties include Vitamin D, which gets derived from an animal product known as Lanolin. You will have to check the soup’s ingredients before incorporating them into the diet. 

Conclusion

It is easy to make your favorite Spaghettios into a product suitable for vegans. You can easily substitute the animal-derived products with other ingredients, which can be easily bought at local grocery stores.

It does not consume much time and is cost-efficient for many people. You can even try to experiment by incorporating different vegan products into your soup to find your ultimate vegan Spaghettios recipe. If you are not comfortable making homemade soup, try using the alternatives to the Spaghettios present in the market.

Consult your friends and family, and have them eat your own homemade Spaghettios. We are sure that they will love it.

Brett White