Are Warheads Vegan?

Are you a vegan who loves sour candy? Then, you definitely might have wondered if your favorite Warheads are vegan at least once in your life. Well, the quick answer is definitely “yes!” But there’s more to it.

So, to analyze whether warheads are vegan, we break down everything we know about the candy. But if you want one quick bite of information, just know that except for Warhead Worms and Sour Twists, the candy is safe for consumption for vegans.

But if you want to nerd out on why some of these Warheads are vegan, and others are not, you’re at the right place! Let us understand the ingredients of Warheads better.

What Are Warheads Made Of?

The tart candy (also known as Mega Warheads in the past), or as many call it, extreme candy, is manufactured by Impact Confections and is a delight for the taste buds. This extremely sour candy is a vintage classic (from around the ‘90s), loved by kids and adults alike.

But like any prudent vegan, we like to know if all ingredients are safe to consume. That is, no animal-derived ingredients or animal-harming or exploitative practices are used to make these candies.

So, let us get right on to the ingredients that go into the making of Warheads.

Sugar, corn syrup, malic acid with hydrogenated palm oil, citric acid, magnesium stearate or soybean oil, gum acacia, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors, carnauba wax, corn starch, artificial colors like blue 1, red 40, and yellow 5.

So, Are All Warheads Ingredients Vegan?

Now that depends if you are a strict vegan or not. Many vegans object to the palm oil used in making this candy (because manufacturing palm oil is quite an exploitative process) and hence refuse to consume anything that contains palm oil or even traces of the oil.

So, yes, while Warheads extreme sour candies are 100% plant-based, environmentalists, animal lovers, and ardent vegans might still refuse to consume them because of the presence of palm oil. This is because manufacturing palm oil causes the loss of endangered plant and animal species.

Classifying Warheads Candies

Keeping the palm oil issue aside, we can break down Warheads candies into vegan and non-vegan categories for sanity.

We understand that by now, many of you will be confused as to which Warheads are safe for vegan consumption.

So, read the list ahead to know for sure if, being a vegan, you can eat a certain Warhead extreme sour candy or not!

  1. Vegan Warheads

When we say vegan Warheads, they do not contain any plant-based products like dairy or gelatine. Based on this, we have shortlisted your favorite Warheads that are vegan (or 100% plant-based). Have a look:

  • Warheads Extreme Sour Candy
  • Warheads Sour Cubes
  • Warheads Sour Jelly
  • Warheads Super Sour Spray Candy
  • Warheads Blizzard Cubes
  • Warheads Super Sour Double Drops
  • Warheads Sour Cooler
  • Warheads Dippin’ Pucker Packs
  • Warheads Sour Booms
  • Warheads Colossal Sours
  • Warheads Sour Watermelon Slices

So, as we mentioned above, these Warheads contain sugar, artificial flavors, and palm oil, among others. But all of these are plant-derived and hence 100% vegan.

  1. Non-Vegan Warheads

This list is fairly short as most Warheads candy variants are made out of vegan ingredients only. There are a couple of exceptions, though, namely:

  • Warheads Worms
  • Warheads Sour Twirls

The problematic ingredients in each of them are gelatine and dairy, respectively. Gelatine is derived from animals (in the case of Warheads Worms, the gelatine is derived from beef). And Warheads Sour Twists contain dairy for enhanced taste and texture.

Warheads FAQs

Now that we know which Warheads candies are vegan and which aren’t so much let us not keep any doubt in our heads. Ahead, we answer the most frequently asked questions by vegans about Warheads, its ingredients, and more:

  1. Do Warheads Candies Have Gelatine?

Well, yes and no! As we discussed above, Warheads Worms candies are made out of gelatine for that soft, chewy texture. These Warheads use gelatine derived from beef. Hence, they aren’t vegan or vegetarian as well.

  1. Do Warheads Candies Contain Dairy Products?

Again yes and no! But mostly no. Warheads Sour Twists are the exception. These candies contain lactose. And lactose is a dairy product. That’s why vegans and lactose-intolerant people must avoid Warheads Sour Twists.

  1. Do Warheads Contain Beeswax?

No! Beeswax is a substance secreted by bees as they go on making their hives. This substance, in turn, has an excellent texture and has been used widely in confectionery making to give candies a better texture and mouthfeel.

Being vegan, the consumption of candies that contain beeswax is obviously out of the question. However, be assured as Warheads do not contain beeswax. So, vegans can enjoy this candy without any worries.

  1. Can Warheads Contain Problematic Ingredients?

Mostly no! But, of course, palm oil has been quite controversial over the past few years. With a lot of vegan activism against the procurement practices behind this oil, we can say that yes, there might be one or two questionable ingredients used in making the delicious Warheads candies.

Final Thoughts

Okay, so, bottom line: while most of the Warheads extreme sour candies are vegan, some are not. The non-vegan candies by Warheads include Warheads Worms and Warheads Sour Twists.

Now, while Warheads Worms contain gelatine derived from beef, the Sour Twists contain lactose, which is a dairy product.

Another sort of questionable ingredient might also be palm oil, which is considered unethical by most strict vegans. But, of course, it is not an animal-derived ingredient.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)