Chillis Vegan Options

With a rising number of vegans, there is a greater need for restaurants that provide vegan alternatives.

Numerous restaurants have recently changed their menus to accommodate their plant-based customers’ different and specific nutritional demands in response to this demand. However, many continue to fall behind in meeting the needs of their vegan consumers.

How about Chipotle? Is there vegan food at Chili’s? Let’s all explore!

Is There Vegan Food At Chili’s?

Chili’s Grill & Bar is a restaurant chain in the United States with over 1,600 locations worldwide. If you like Chili’s, you’re certainly familiar with their famous menu. From sizzling fajitas to fresh salads, grilled vegetables, burgers, and pasta, their menus have something for everyone!

Unlike many prominent pubs and restaurants, Chili’s offers vegan options on its menu.

Their vegan options are restricted to sides, appetizers, and salads. However, you can still create a great vegan lunch with several vegan-friendly ingredients they have.

Chili’s does not lack nice vegan selections, although they are not as good as many other restaurants. However, like other restaurants, vegans must study the menu and determine what’s vegan at Chili’s.

Vegan Options at Chili’s

You may have a vegan dinner at Chili’s by choosing some of the following products:


Chili’s has a nice selection of vegan appetizers. Some contain dairy, while others are fully vegan.

Luckily, you can enjoy these vegan appetizers at Chili’s.

  • French Fries in a Basket
  • Bottomless Tortilla Chips & Fresh Salsa
  • Unique Chips & Salsa
  • Guacamole with Chips
  • Fried Pickles (without the ranch dressing)

Before buying these appetizers, remember that all fried foods are prepared in the same oil as meat items. So, if cross-contamination isn’t an issue for you, you’re good to go.

Chili’s Full Menu (non-salad) Selections

Mexican Rice and Beans Served With Tortillas and Guacamole

Chili’s vegan menu is somewhat limited. Sadly, this is one of those restaurants where you have to combine many sides to complete a meal. This is one of the few meals you can make that approaches something resembling normal.

According to Chili’s most recent allergy menu, the fajitas seem to include dairy. This contains the Black Bean and Veggie Fajitas. Some restaurants use butter rather than oil for the fajitas and occasionally have a non-vegan sauce with egg. 

There are differing opinions over whether such foods can be turned vegan with some modifications.

You may indeed check. It is advised to avoid them because getting a strong and coherent answer from Chili’s has proven challenging.

Side Options at Chili’s

Chili’s has a variety of vegan and vegetarian-friendly sides. Their portion sizes are enormous, and the tastes are absolutely delicious.

Every foodie will appreciate Chili’s various vegan side selections. Check out these limitless combinations for a filling meal.

  • Mexican Rice & Beans
  • Black Beans  
  • Steamed Broccoli  
  • French Fries  
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Chips & Guacamole
  • Fresh pineapple mandarin oranges
  • Garlic dill pickles
  • Avocado Slices


While Chili’s does not provide a vegan salad, these recommendations can quickly be adapted to meet vegan dietary requirements:

  • House salad – It’s the typical house salad, with lettuce, cucumber, tomato, and red onions. To make it vegan, remove the sauce, parmesan, and croutons.
  • Chili’s Caribbean Salad – You’ll enjoy this salad whenever you prefer sweet and salty culinary combinations. This salad has a bold burst of natural flavors, delicious tangerine oranges, pineapple, cranberries, onion, cilantro, and red bell peppers. Simply leave out the meat and honey-lime dressing when ordering vegan.

Salad Dressings & Sauces

Chili’s has a variety of vegan sauces and salad dressings to go with your vegan meals! A decent assortment of vegan sauces and dressings is available to make your dish more appealing.

  • The Original BBQ Sauce  
  • The House-made BBQ Sauce  
  • Citrus Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing  
  • Salsa  
  • Guacamole  
  • Ketchup  


Sadly, there are no vegan or vegetarian sandwiches available at Chili’s. However, you may prepare a vegetarian sandwich by substituting a bean patty and a suitable sauce for the meat.


Unfortunately, there seem to be no vegan dessert alternatives on Chili’s menu! And if you’re a vegetarian, you may enjoy Chili’s desserts.


In addition to regular sodas, Chili’s offers various vegan non-alcoholic beverages:

  • Lemonade
  • Orange juice
  • Apple juice
  • Coffee and Tea

Chili’s also has a wide selection of alcoholic beverages that are mostly vegan.

How About the Soups and the Veggie Burger?

At the moment, none of the other menu items appear vegan, such as the veggie burger and all Chili’s soups.

Chili’s veggie burger is vegetarian but not vegan. Because it is a black-bean patty with egg and dairy, vegans must stick to the rice, beans, and other sides listed above. Hopefully, they will soon move to a vegan black bean burger or join the beyond meat campaign.

When dining at places like Chili’s, please remember that cross-contamination is always possible. If you’re not concerned about it, you can enjoy any of the alternatives listed here.

Chili’s Alternative Suggestions

  • Make your waiter or server aware of your vegan or vegetarian status.
  • In place of the meat, request that your waitress add more cheese to the sandwich or whatever on the menu.
  • If you are vegan, be careful to select some menu items without specific sauces.
  • Although Chili’s vegan choices are limited, make the most of them by ordering a variety of sides and appetizers to create a meal!


What Vegan Options do Chili’s Have?

All vegan possibilities are steamed broccoli, simple corn on the cob, grilled asparagus, and fries. Request a side of the Homemade Barbecue Sauce (vegan) for dipping. Vegan options include corn and soft corn tortillas, Mexican rice, black beans, grilled avocados, guacamole, salsa, and pico de gallo.

Are The Fries at Chili’s Vegan?

The fryer in which the fries are cooked is shared with non-vegan meals, as with other fried dishes at Chili’s. If this is a problem, you should avoid eating fried products on the list.

Is the Black Bean Burger at Chili’s vegan?

The chili’s black bean burger also is not vegan. According to Chili’s allergen/vegan guidelines, the patties include eggs and milk, but the burger bread is vegetarian.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)