Is Nesquik Vegan: Find Out Here

Imagine a large glass of almond milk sweetened with Nesquik, your childhood delight. The Nesquik surely brings up a lot of old fond memories. There is no easier or more delicious method to make a fresh cup of chocolate milk, but is Nesquick vegan-friendly?

We must address three factors to answer this question. Is there any animal byproduct in Nesquik? Should you back a corporation like Nestlé, which engages in several unethical actions, including animal exploitation? Should you use the product although it contains problematic ingredients?

Continue reading to find out why Nesquick is not vegan-friendly.

What Is Nesquik?

Since 1948, Nesquik Chocolate Powder Mix has been available in the United States. It soon spread across the globe, with most industrialised countries having a presence by 1960. The benefits of this product include having chocolate milk whenever you want it and merely having to keep regular milk in your fridge. You do not need to buy chocolate milk and won’t worry about it going bad.

It’s promoted to kids to encourage them to drink enough milk and get the nutrients and minerals they need to thrive, as it’s fortified with vitamins. Nesquik is available in various flavours worldwide, but the most common are chocolate, strawberry, and banana.

Is Nesquik Vegan?

After reading the nutrition label, it appears that the answer is no. Nesquik is not a vegan. The regular Nesquik powder items, at the very least, aren’t vegan.

Nesquik contains no animal-based ingredients, which is simple to discern at first glance. Vegans must virtually always inspect all packaging for potential irritants.

The ingredients in Nesquik include processed sugar, cocoa, soy lecithin, salt, spice, natural flavour, carrageenan, vitamins, and minerals. As you can see, there are no dairy-based substances or any animal-based products among the stated ingredients. When you look closer, you’ll notice that several of these elements are debatable.

Vitamin D is present in the powder, which originates from lanolin derived from sheep’s wool. Nesquik isn’t vegan because it’s made from animal byproducts, despite not having any additional milk-based components.

Among the contentious substances that hardcore vegans avoid are processed sugar, natural flavours, and soy lecithin. Some vegans simply do not want to endorse Nestle in any way.

As you can see from the ingredients list, it also contains biotin and all other vitamins and minerals. Most of these vitamins and minerals are derived from non-vegan sources or animals in another way.

Biotin, for example, is derived from plants rather than animals, but it is present as a live cell in milk or chicken, and hence in eggs. If you follow a vegan diet, you won’t be able to drink or consume this cocoa powder, although there are plenty of alternatives.

Non-Vegan Ingredients in Nesquik Powder


Since sugar comes from a plant, it appears to be a vegan product. However, most commercialised sugar comes from sugar cane and is processed with bone char to keep its white hue. Bone char is a powder-like substance made from animal bones, most typically cow bones, burned at a very high temperature. Although the sugar does not contain any bone char particles, it becomes non-vegan when it comes into contact.


Animal-derived goods, such as chicken, eggs, and dairy, contain biotin. It can also be present in plant-based foods like almonds and wholewheat bread. While biotin can be found in nuts and seeds, it can also be found in meat, fish, dairy, and eggs.

When you read biotin on an ingredient label, it might have come from an animal source, but it’s usually synthetic – and vegan-friendly.

When you need to scale it up to enormous levels, making it in a lab is far cheaper, so they’re less inclined to extract it from animals.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavours can come from plants and animals, so it’s a bit confusing. Natural flavours may appear to be a mild and innocuous component. However, they are frequently rather unsightly. Natural flavours are far from vegan in reality. Unless otherwise noted, you can consider them available in almost any place.

This word is frequently used by well-known businesses to disguise animal- or dairy-based products. No honest vegan would purchase the item if these components were mentioned clearly. 

Vegan Alternatives Of Nesquik Powder

There are lots of non-animal-derived alternatives to Nesquik powdered. Cadbury Chocolate Milkshake Powder Mix is a good example. This Cadbury milkshake mix, sold in many groceries, contains soya lecithin and maize fiber, both derived from plants and no dairy products. As there is a notice that it “may contain milk,” there is a risk of cross-contamination. You are free to decide whether or not this is an issue for you.

You can also simply prepare a sweet, chocolaty powder using Hershey’s, Ghirardelli, Navitas, or any other cocoa powder and a vegan-friendly sugar like Wholesome sugars. Just mix it in your milk and enjoy your chocolaty drink!

Is Nesquik Healthy?

Yes, Nesquik is good for health. It contains calcium and vitamin D, which are necessary for your child’s bone and tooth development. It even aids in promoting regular growth in children who do not eat correctly. As a result, you can offer it to your children without fear of negative consequences.

Due to the obvious high sugar content and artificial tastes, some people believe Nesquik to be harmful. It’s famous because of its delectable taste, and it comes in a variety of flavours. You have a choice of nine distinct flavours to choose from.

Final Thoughts

Vegans! It’s time to say goodbye to Nesquik. Given the prevalence of animal ingredients in unexpected food products, it’s best to prevent any doubt and stick to the vegan-friendly options you’re familiar with.

It’s also a smart idea to familiarise yourself with some of the odd-sounding ingredients you frequently overlook and discover where they come from. Don’t worry about the loss; with one of these fantastic alternatives, you’ll be able to satisfy your sweet taste with ease.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)