Is Nutella Vegan?

Is Nutella Vegan

Nutella is a chocolate-hazelnut spread that can be found in stores across the world, where it is eaten with toast, pancakes, and other confections.

Because of its accessible nature, Nutella is often eaten during breakfast time and can be found in various baked goods and other snacks.

The spread often stars as the main ingredient in a range of recipes, whether that be a delicious chocolate cake or a stuffed crepe.

And while the spread is known for its decadent flavor, this does not mean that it can be served to anyone.

Beyond its high sugar content, Nutella also contains nuts and other ingredients that could concern a dieter or health enthusiast.

However, one of the most pressing questions is whether the spread is vegan or not, meaning that it is free from animal products.

In the following article, we have compiled some interesting information concerning Nutella and its vegan status, as well as some wonderful alternatives to the chocolatey snack.

So if you want to learn more about this spread and its production, this article has everything you need to get started…

Overview

If you are in a rush and don’t have time to read the entire article, we have provided a condensed version of our research in the following section:

As a product, Nutella contains an ingredient called skim milk powder, which is derived from cow’s milk.

Therefore, the spread is not vegan.

If you want to know more about the ingredients that are used to make Nutella, we have provided a detailed explanation in the section below.

Is Nutella Vegan?

While it may be safe to assume that Nutella is non-vegan because of its chocolate content, this does not mean that all chocolate products are restricted.

In fact, you can find out what a product contains by going to their website, as they have to share this information with potential customers.

If you take a look at the Nutella website, you will find that the spread contains eight different ingredients, such as sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, skim milk powder, cocoa, lecithin, and vanillin (which is a man-made vanilla extract).

Lecithin is an emulsifier that is added to other ingredients to create a smooth consistency, with the substance commonly being made of eggs.

Because of this, the emulsifier is often seen as a non-vegan product, although the one found in Nutella is actually made from soybeans, making it vegan.

However, this does not mean that the spread is suitable for vegans, as Nutella does contain an ingredient called skim milk powder.

This substance is derived from cow’s milk and undergoes a heating and drying process to remove the residual fluid.

Because of this, Nutella can not be classified as vegan, as it contains an animal-based product.

Are There Vegan Alternatives?

Are There Vegan Alternatives

If you are searching for a vegan alternative to Nutella, then there are countless products to choose from.

That is why we have compiled the following list of some of the best vegan-friendly Nutella alternatives currently available:

Natural Nut Butters

For a quick and easy alternative, it is possible to purchase natural nut butter that does not contain any added ingredients (such as sugar and oil).

Not only are these kinds of butter vegan, but they also contain less sugar than a jar of chocolate spread, making them a healthier option.

Of course, two of the most popular nut butters include almond and peanut butter, which both contain a healthy dose of protein.

In fact, both products contain 7 grams of protein per 2 tablespoons.

Hazelnut butter is also a viable alternative, however, it does contain less protein than its peers and provides less than important macronutrients.

Other notable vegan-friendly Nutella alternatives include:

Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

This delicious spread is made from roasted hazelnuts and almonds, which are then combined with cocoa powder and palm oil to produce a delicious vegan snack that carries all the decadence of Nutella.

To learn more about this product, you can visit their website here.

Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

If you prefer your chocolate on the darker side, then you will simply adore this amazing spread, which can be used in baked goods and other desserts.

And while this product does contain lecithin, the substance is made from sunflowers, making the finished confection completely vegan.

To learn more about this product, you can visit their website here.

Artisana Organics Hazelnut Cacao Spread

When it comes to organic hazelnut spread, there is no better option than this amazing product.

Using organic hazelnuts that have been combined with cacao powder and coconut sugar, this spread is bursting with antioxidants and can be eaten with cakes and other snacks.

To learn more about this product, you can visit their website here.

How To Make Vegan Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread

How To Make Vegan Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread

Searching for vegan spreads can be a difficult task, which is why the best option is to make your own from scratch.

When making Nutella, lecithin and skim milk powder is added to the mixture to create a smooth consistency.

However, you will have to leave out these ingredients if you want the spread to remain vegan.

Of course, sugar, hazelnuts, and cocoa powder are all-natural products and can be used in a range of vegan recipes.

For the best results, we recommend swapping the vanillin for real vanilla extract.

So without further ado, let’s take a look at how to make your own vegan chocolate-hazelnut spread:

Ingredients

  • Roasted skinless hazelnuts (4 cups = 540 grams)
  • Cocoa powder (¾ cup = 75 grams)
  • Coconut oil (2 tablespoons = 30 milliliters)
  • Maple syrup (½ cup = 160 grams)
  • Natural vanilla extract (2 teaspoons = 10 milliliters)
  • Table salt (1 teaspoon)

Method

  1. Take the roasted hazelnuts and add them to a blender or food processor before blitzing them to form a thick paste.
  2. When the hazelnuts have been blended, take the cocoa powder, coconut oil, maple syrup, natural vanilla extract, and table salt and add them to the blender.
  3. Blitz the combined ingredients until they form a smooth and airy mixture.
  4. Once the spread is ready, transfer the mixture to a glass jar and seal the lid until use.
  5. For the best results, place the jar in the refrigerator, as this should make it last for up to one month.

Final Thoughts

Because Nutella contains skim milk powder, it can not be considered a vegan product and therefore should not be readily consumed.

Fortunately, there are countless products similar to Nutella on the market, which all use natural and vegan ingredients to create their signature sweetness.

However, if you are finding it difficult to locate a suitable spread, you can make your own vegan alternative from the comfort of your home.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)
Spread the love