When you follow a vegan diet, people automatically assume that your food is 2 things: boring and bland.
People associate vegans with salad, grass, and again, lots of salad.
What people are unaware of is that a vegan diet is anything but boring and bland, you just have to choose the right seasonings for your food.
If you are looking to add some spice to your vegan lifestyle, hot sauce is a great way to do so.
You can add hot sauce onto virtually any dish for a flavorsome kick that will make any meal taste automatically more interesting.
A popular spicy sauce is Sriracha, a sauce combined with both garlic and chili for a burst of flavor that can accompany all of your meals.
You may be wondering, is Sriracha vegan?
Why do people love it so much? What is so special about Sriracha?
Well, prepare to have all of your questions answered so that you can begin adding some well-deserved flavor to your food.
What Is Sriracha?
Sriracha is a spicy sauce that originates from Thailand and has become extremely popular all over the world. Sriracha consists of chili peppers, garlic, salt, vinegar, and sugar, and is 100% vegan.
Sriracha is popular when eating seafood, but people use Sriracha on anything as it is extremely versatile. You are able to top your fries, salads, pasta dishes, or even sushi with Sriracha.
Sriracha was formed in the town of Sri Racha in Thailand. David Tran moved from Vietnam to America and started making his own chili sauce as he couldn’t find a sauce in America that he enjoyed.
He started selling his hot sauce in America, and that is how Huy Fong Sriracha sauce began.
Huy Fong is one of the most popular Sriracha brands in the world, although unfortunately, it is not vegan due to the sugar process when making the Sriracha.
Are There Different Types Of Sriracha That Are Vegan?
You are able to make Sriracha at home, but if you are looking for a certain vegan brand, Flying Goose Sriracha specializes in creating authentic Thai Sriracha and has lots of different flavored Sriracha sauces.
From Sriracha Mayo to Smokey Sriracha, there is a large range of Sriracha flavors that are all vegan for you to try.
You are also able to purchase Sriracha that is made with yellow or green chilies instead of red, or you can find a Sriracha made with extra garlic.
There are other brands of Sriracha available that are most likely to be vegan as traditional Sriracha is made with vegan ingredients, but it is always best to double-check the ingredients or look to see if the bottle is marked as vegan.
Is Sriracha Spicy?
Sriracha is made from red chilies so there is definitely an element of spice. However, Sriracha is popular due to it being both spicy and tasty.
Sriracha is not as spicy as tabasco sauce or cayenne pepper, but it definitely still has a kick to it. If you are looking for a mildly spicy sauce, Sriracha might just be the thing for you.
If you are making your own Sriracha at home, you are able to control the level of spice based on how many chilies you use in your recipe.
If you want a milder spice level, add fewer chilies in and build the sauce up to the level of spiciness you are looking for.
How Do You Make Homemade Sriracha?
Here is a simple recipe for you to follow if you are looking to make Sriracha at home.
By making Sriracha at home, you can make sure that the sauce is 100% vegan and recreate an authentic Thai Sriracha sauce to enjoy at home.
Homemade Sriracha Recipe
Firstly, add your red chili peppers to a blender or food processor and pulse until they are slightly broken up. Place the blended red chili peppers in a jar leaving at least 1 inch of space between the peppers and the top of the jar.
Next, mix the water and salt together and pour over the chilies inside the jar.
This begins the fermentation process.
Keep the lid on the jar and leave the jar for a week in a dark space away from sunlight. Unscrew the lid of the jar slightly to let out some of the gases a few times during the week. Once the brine turns cloudy, the fermentation process is over.
Empty the jar into a pan with garlic, granulated sugar, vinegar, and brown sugar and allow the mixture to simmer for 5-10 minutes until the sauce reduces.
Once the sauce is cool, transfer the pan mixture into a food processor and blend the sauce until it is smooth.
Strain the sauce to remove any solids and transfer the sauce to bottles for storage. There you have your 100% vegan homemade Sriracha sauce!
To conclude, Sriracha is traditionally 100% vegan, but you should always check the ingredients before buying Sriracha as some companies do not sell vegan Sriracha due to the sugar process not being vegan.
Sriracha brands like Flying Goose are clearly labeled as vegan so it is important to double-check the bottle before purchasing.
Sriracha is a great sauce for vegans to have as it is so versatile and adds a strong flavor and kick to any dish you want.
Sriracha is mild enough that you are able to enjoy the taste of the sauce but strong enough to provide you with an exciting burst of flavor!
Homemade Sriracha is perfect for making sure that your sauce is vegan as you can follow traditional Sriracha recipes to recreate the authentic flavor of Sriracha.
The recipe is easy to follow and you can be sure that your sauce is vegan as you can carefully select your ingredients to make sure that your sauce is 100% vegan.
Finally, it is clear why Sriracha is so popular in the vegan community!
Enjoy great-tasting flavors and spice whilst experiencing a deliciously authentic Thai favorite!
- How To Make Vegan Buttermilk: A Tasty Recipe - May 10, 2022
- 12 High Protein Vegetarian Snacks To Stay Fueled Through The Day - May 10, 2022
- 8 Vegetarian Smoker Recipes-Must Try! - May 10, 2022