Is Tapatio Vegan?: What We Know

Hot sauce lover vegan friends rejoice as we tell you that Tapatio hot sauce is vegan! So, of course, you can study the labels all you want as a responsible vegan, but rest assured, the ingredients of Tapatio sauce are all plant-derived.

So whether you are a Northern American or Mexican, if you’re a vegan, you can add all that Tapatio sauce to your Mexican (or not) food without worrying about the ingredients.

With simple ingredients and a consistent recipe across the globe, Tapatio sauce is one of the most trustable condiments, as long as vegans are concerned. But keep reading to understand what makes Tapatio so vegan-friendly.

All About Tapatio Hot Sauce

Tapatio hot sauce is a trademark red pepper hot sauce known for its sizzling heat. It adds a lot of heat and a layer of drama to our dishes. Fun fact: “Tapatio,” as a name, refers to individuals from Guadalajara, Jalisco. This is where the company’s founders immigrated.

PS: It is spicier and hotter than Sriracha!

In terms of Scoville Heat Score, the sauce is certified hot with a score of 3000 SHU. But in the world of hot sauces, this heat score is considered moderately hot. So, Tapatio sauce is popular because it caters to a wide audience of heat lovers and others who struggle with heat but love the flavor.

Moving on to the ingredients, Tapatio sauce is made out of quite straightforward stuff! There is water, red peppers, salt, spices, garlic, acetic acid, xanthan gum, and sodium benzoate as a preservative.

Thus, none of the ingredients seems questionable when we think of whether they’re animal-derived or not. All of these ingredients are 100% vegan-friendly, making Tapatio sauce vegan.

Is Xanthan Gum Questionable?

Now out of all these ingredients in Tapatio, some people tend to question if xanthan gum might be something animal-derived. But be assured that xanthan gum is vegan as well.

But what exactly is xanthan gum? It is a substance made from fermented corn to add form and texture to food and skincare items. Bacteria is the agent that usually ferments xanthan gum resulting in a gummy paste after its fermentation.

Many theories have been circulating about how xanthan gum might be produced on lactose or using egg yolks or other animal-derived products. But the truth is that none of these theories has been verified.

In general, xanthan gum is mostly vegan, and the most efficient and economical way to produce it is to use sugars from corn syrup. Hence, it is plant-based. And that’s why Tapatio, as a whole, is also vegan.

A Little Bit On Tapatio Seasoning

Tapatio Salsa Picante seasoning is a more recent offering by the brand but is increasingly popular. And if you’re wondering if Tapatio seasoning is also vegan, we have the answer!

Of course, it is vegan. It also has no MSG and is also gluten-free. Pretty great, huh? Plus, it has low water and carbon footprint as well. A win-win!

Let us also look at this seasoning’s ingredients: sea salt, red pepper, garlic, vinegar powder, spices, citric acid, sodium diacetate, extractives of paprika, and silicon dioxide to prevent caking.

As you can see yourself, none of these ingredients is animal-derived. That’s why Tapatio Salsa Picante seasoning is also vegan-friendly and, in fact, also low on environmental impact.

Tapatio Hot Sauce FAQs

After knowing Tapatio hot sauce better, it is time to remove all doubts. This section has compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions about Tapatio hot sauce that often vegans find themselves curious about.

  1. Which Sauces Are Not Vegan?

Well, PETA suggests looking for ingredients like honey on the label of hot sauces (and condiments in general) to know if a particular sauce is vegan or not. Apart from that, we now know that Tapatio is vegan, so here is a quick list of sauces that are not vegan:

  • Horseradish
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Fish sauce (duh!)
  • Mayonnaise
  • Some BBQ sauces

And, of course, there are many more. We advise you to keep your label-reading game on!

  1. Which Sauces Are Vegan, Then?

More interesting is a list of sauces that are vegan and safe for consumption by vegans? We have a similar short list of sauces containing only plant-based products (and some artificial flavors, maybe). Add these to your shopping list right away:

  • Cholula
  • Frank’s RedHot
  • Most kinds of ketchup
  • Harissa
  • Agave Syrup
  • Tabasco
  • Chili Oil

And the list goes on!

  1. Is Tapatio Sauce Gluten-Free?

As the label suggests, Tapatio sauce is free of any form of gluten like flour or malt. Yes, Tapatio sauce is generally touted as a gluten-free hot sauce for the discerning.

  1. Which Food Pairs Well With Tapatio Sauce?

Firstly, and most popularly, breakfast eggs! Then, of course, any kind of food you like. From different kinds of pasta to cocktails, all kinds of food have a place for a touch of heat (let us keep desserts out of this, though).

Final Word

We all love Tapatio! Spicier than Sriracha, this sauce is an absolute love in Mexican and Northern American locales. It is a sauce that also pairs well with any kind of food and fairs moderately in hot sauces.

If you’re a vegan and wondering if this sauce is okay for consumption, you need not worry about anything! All the ingredients used in Tapatio are vegan-friendly, and there are no questionable ingredients (except maybe xanthan gum, but it is all theories and no reason).

So, yes, your Tapatio sauce is vegan. Unlike many other sauces that might contain (traces of) honey, this sauce is free of any questionable ingredients.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)