Is There A Vegan Version Of Lucky Charms?

Lucky Charms is a cereal company that has been around since 1964 and is made by General Mills. The cereal is primarily made out of toasted oat pieces that have been coated with a variety of colorful marshmallow chunks and crumbs.

At first, it was not presented in a positive light. After noticing that it wasn’t getting much attention, they added the sugar coating, and the success started to spread.

Is it healthy To Eat Lucky Charms?

Lucky Charms is a cereal that has been enhanced with extra minerals and vitamins, which may be beneficial to persons who are following a low-calorie diet. However, it is far better to acquire your nutrition from whole foods like fruits and vegetables.

The unfortunate truth is that Lucky Charms cereal, like many other treats kids love, contains a lot of sugar. It also contains hazardous dyes, which are used to produce the brilliant, little marshmallow bits that are so popular these days. These hues have been associated with the development of cancer in several studies. 

According to research, the dyes have been linked to behavioral difficulties, allergies, and hyperactivity in children. 

Lucky charms are not beneficial to your health. It may be OK to have a small amount of this cereal on occasion, as with other crunchy snacks, but if you are following a diet or you are vegan, you would not want to include this cereal in your usual diet daily.

Can Vegans Eat The Lucky Charms?

Breakfast is commonly referred to as “the most important meal of the day.” Oat milk with blueberries is one of the most popular cereal pairings. Because there are so many cereal brands, it’s difficult to tell which ones are vegan.

Lucky Charms is unquestionably delicious; nevertheless, after investigating its components and nutritional composition, we discovered that it is not fit for inclusion on a vegan diet.

Even though the ingredients included in Lucky Charms appear to be vegan at first look, further study reveals that the majority of the ingredients used to make Lucky Charms are not vegan. 

Let’s see a couple of ingredients used in the Lucky Charms:


Using cows and pigs that have been rendered inedible by the meat industry as raw materials, gelatin is created by cooking their tendons, skin, and bones for an extended period. Although it may be found in a variety of cosmetic products such as masks and cleansers, it is most commonly found in fruit desserts and gelatins. 

As mentioned, gelatin is not vegan, although there are now vegan equivalents like agave nectar, carrageenan, and pectin, as well as alternatives derived from seaweed or peelings.

Artificial Colors Used In Lucky Charms 

Lucky Charms contain the artificial colors Yellows 5 and 6, Red 40, and Blue 1. Many individuals are uncomfortable discussing this subject, and for a good reason.

Although artificial colors do not include any ingredients derived from animals when this chemical is utilized, something as horrifying occurs, and that is the exploitation of animals in experiments. 

Some may claim that it is vegan, while others may say that it is not.

The vegan diet is based on the principle of putting an end to animal pain and brutality. It is not possible to make this component vegan because animals are killed and tortured throughout the process of assessing the suitability of artificial colors. Alternative testing methods, such as simulations can be used in place of traditional procedures.

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3, which is found in cereals such as Lucky Charms, is derived from lanolin, a wax produced by the oil glands of wool-bearing animals, notably sheep. Lanolin is collected from the sebaceous glands of sheep.

It is possible to remove lanolin from sheep wool during shearing, which is a method in which the wool is cut off with hair clippers and washed to extract the lanolin from the solution. When lanolin is collected, it takes the form of a waxy substance that is packed and delivered to a refinery for processing.

Once the lanolin has been processed and dried, it is transferred to a laboratory and placed inside a special chamber where it is exposed to ultraviolet radiation to simulate the effects of sunlight on the skin. This procedure specifically creates vitamin D3, which is then used to fortify foods such as cereals by including it in the recipe.


The use of this chemical is one of the most controversial issues when it comes to veganism. Cane sugar is the most often utilized type of sugar in the candy and sweets manufacturing industry.

Cane sugar is very well for its use of bone char throughout the washing step, which has gained a great deal of attention over the past few decades.

The majority of vegans think that using bone char is inappropriate because there are better options available to utilize instead.

Is There a Vegan Version of Lucky Charms?

Unfortunately, as of right now, although we investigated and searched for the vegan version of the Lucky Charms marshmallows, there isn’t any alternative that is suitable for the vegan population due to the contents used in the manufacturing process. 

We hope shortly the brand will look upon this side of the population and give the consumers a product that is suitable to be included with the vegan diets and lifestyle. 


As a product that uses animal contents, Lucky Charms is not a great option for your vegan diet because it contains gelatin and vitamin D3, both of which are animal-derived. Lucky Charms cereal is a child’s favorite treat for many children in the United States. Even though it has been enriched with minerals and vitamins, it is not a very healthy meal.

Sugary desserts, like Lucky Charms, may include artificial ingredients that are potentially harmful to one’s health. The use of these products has been related to child obesity and might even raise your risk of developing diabetes, heart problems, or cancer.

If you are a vegan and are following a healthy diet, we suggest that you find better options for your breakfast choice! 

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)