Is Yeast Vegan?

As more and more people become vegans, naturally, we must ask if certain foods are suitable for a plant-based lifestyle. Vegans need to know if the things they consume align with their principles.

Meat and fish are obviously off of the table. However, it can be tricky to tell if certain foods are vegan-friendly or not.

One of these foods is yeast. Yeast is often used to make bread and pizza, but it’s also used to bake cakes and donuts.

Other than cooking, yeast is also needed to produce wine. Brewing manufacturers mix yeast with sugars to create alcohol.

Yeast is also important in the biofuel world. As yeast can be turned into ethanol, we can use it as an alternative to diesel to fuel cars.

It’s clear that yeast is a popular substance and may be needed in the future, but is yeast vegan friendly?

We’ll cover the answer in this article. You’ll find out what yeast is, the difference between nutritional yeast and baker’s yeast, and what types of yeast are vegan-friendly.

Yeast Basics

Is Yeast Vegan?

Every kind of yeast is a single-celled microorganism that comes from the fungus kingdom. These include molds, mushrooms, and yeasts.

They can be found all over the globe, but humans have cultured a few yeast varieties over several years.

Yeast grinding tools were found in Egyptian ruins around 4000 years old. Some findings also suggest ancient civilizations used yeast to create alcohol.

In the modern world, we too use yeast to brew alcohol, but we also use it to bake, create probiotics, and produce nutritional supplements.

Active And Inactive Yeast

Some kinds of yeast can transform compounds into different ones. This type of yeast is called active yeast. These are used to ferment the alcohol and make bread dough rise, but active yeast can be harmful when eaten directly.

Inactive yeast isn’t living, so it can’t carry out any processes like active yeast can. Unlike active yeast, inactive yeast is only suitable for consumption.

As active yeast is much harder to digest, it can lead to intestinal issues, like cramps, bloating, and diarrhea. If yeast is to be consumed, it should only be eaten in its inactive form.

Is Yeast A Plant Or Animal?

The terms inactive and active may imply that yeast is a living being, at least at one stage, but remember that yeast is a fungus.

Fungus isn’t a plant or an animal. They do count as living, but like plants, they lack awareness. They aren’t capable of feelings and don’t have a conscience, so they can’t feel pain.

Types Of Yeast

Is Yeast Vegan?

Bakers Yeast

Bakers yeast, also known as S. cerevisiae, is an active yeast. Bakers use it to create bread, pizza, and any other treats made from dough.

Bakers yeast transforms carbohydrates into alcohol and carbon dioxide. This produces air bubbles within the dough to make it rise, giving the baked good sufficient texture and support.

Brewer’s Yeast

As the name suggests, brewer’s yeast is used to brew alcohol. This yeast is the same as baker’s yeast, but it’s used for a different purpose.

Brewer’s yeast starts as active but dies after the fermentation process. Once it turns into inactive yeast, it can be eaten safely. This yeast is also packed with B vitamins, so it can be a nutritious addition to a vegan diet.

Nutritional Yeast

Nutritional yeast is the inactive form of S. cerevisiae, so it’s safe to eat. Nutritional yeast looks like bright yellow flakes and is often used to top savory foods. It’s normally found at grocery stores, online, and bulk food stores.

Yeast Extract

Yeast extract is a paste made from concentrated nutritional yeast. It’s used in spreads like marmite and vegemite to flavor food.

Yeast extract has a strong flavor that divides opinion. Some like its full-bodied flavor but those who prefer lighter flavors tend to pass on it.

Is Nutritional Yeast Healthy?

Nutritional yeast has become popular over the years as it is a very healthy food for humans. It has a hearty, salty flavor that’s like a nuttier version of parmesan cheese.

These yeast flakes are very lightweight, tasty, and completely vegan!

This is one of the vegan foods that contain a lot of important amino acids. Nutritional yeast allows vegans to get an adequate supply of protein in their diets.

It also contains many vitamins and minerals. As mentioned above, nutritional yeast is full of B vitamins that keep you energized.

It also contains selenium, zinc, and manganese, all substances that strengthen the immune system and regulate metabolism.

Each manufacturer produces nutritional yeast slightly differently, so the nutritional value depends on the brand you buy.

Always look at the protein, vitamins, and mineral content to ensure it’s nutritious enough. In most cases, nutritional yeast has around 60 calories in a quarter cup, so it’s very nutritiously dense.

Is Yeast Vegan?

Yes, yeast is vegan! Yeast may be a living fungus, but it doesn’t have a conscience like animals or sentient creatures do. Yeast is more like a bacteria, so it won’t feel painful. For this reason, vegans can consume yeast without issue.

Nutritional yeast is a popular vegan food that’s often used as a cheese substitute. It has a strong nutritional profile, so feel free to sprinkle some spoons over a savory dish.

Nutritional yeast is very high in vitamin B12, which is a very important vitamin for vegans and vegetarians.

People who don’t eat meat have a higher risk of vitamin B deficiency, so you may want to stock up on this flavorful powder.

You can do a lot of things with nutritional yeast. It works well as a cheese alternative on top of vegan pasta or sprinkles it over oven-made kale chips.

You can even try making a nutritional yeast sauce as a substitute for cream cheese.

The Bottom Line

Yes, vegans can eat yeast! As long as the yeast is inactive, it can be a great addition to a vegan diet.

Nutritional yeast is a popular vegan food that’s packed with protein, vitamins, and minerals. It’s also low in calories, making it a very nutrient-dense food.

Just remember that active yeast should always be avoided, as it can cause gastrointestinal issues.

Vegans can enjoy foods made with yeast, like bread, alcohol, and pizza, but should make sure that they don’t contain any other animal-based substances.

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)