Chick-fil-A is a well-known, American classic for takeout and has been sustaining the bellies of many Americans since the late 1960s and is a staple for diners, be it on the road or when you are craving a fulfilling takeout.
While in general, finding restaurants that cater to the vegan diet and lifestyle may be challenging. However, this is not the case with Chick-fil-A.
They have a wide variety of options to choose from that are vegan-friendly, served from dawn till dusk.
Before we dive headfirst into what options are out there for vegans to select from, it is important to note that although most of the items featured on a Chick-fil-A menu are handmade in their own kitchens, they do not have vegetarian or vegan-only preparation surfaces.
Depending on what you are after for breakfast, there are a couple of options to satisfy the hungry vegan. If you are wanting a healthier option, their fruit cup fits the bill and is completely vegan.
The fruit in the cups vary according to what is available and in the season but are generally a fresh and bright mix of sweet red apples, berries, and oranges.
The next option for breakfast that is vegan and utterly delicious, and for when you are in the mood for something substantial, are their hash browns.
The hash browns are a perfect pair to ketchup or alternatively, you can pair them with grape or mixed fruit jelly.
Other options for breakfast include English muffins which come steaming hot and can be sweetened with a side of jelly.
Some branches also offer multigrain bagels, which are vegan and can be eaten with jelly for breakfast.
Lunch And Dinner Options
For lunch and dinner, there are a few delightful options that are absolutely mouth-watering (even to non-vegans!).
Unfortunately for vegans, none of the sandwich bread is suitable for vegans at Chick-fil-A as it contains milk and milk products as well as honey.
Fortunately, their world-class salads and wraps can be amended to include the vegan population and can be paired with their bagels if you want a little more sustenance.
The first option to choose from is no exception to this- Chick-fil-A’s Spicy Southwest Salad.
This salad is absolutely to die for. It is packed full of Southern-style goodness and includes grape tomatoes, roasted corn, black beans, and poblano chilies which is served on a bed of mixed greens, bell peppers, vegan seasoned tortilla strips, and chili-lime pepitas.
You need to specify in the order to have the salad without chicken and cheese, and you will need to pick from one of their vegan-friendly dressings to go with the salad.
The second option to choose from is the market salad, which is made up of a combination of red and green apples, strawberries, and blueberries on a bed of fresh mixed greens.
The usual menu item contains chicken strips, blue cheese and comes with their Harvest Nut Granola (which contains honey) so it is important to inform the restaurants to omit these ingredients.
You can then add any dressing or sauce that is vegan-friendly (which will be detailed in the next section).
The Grilled Cool Wrap is probably the best and most popular menu item amongst vegans.
All that needs to be done is to request it without chicken, cheese, and the Avocado Lime Dressing (this dressing contains buttermilk) and add a vegan vinaigrette or sauce to give you a complete and rounded meal.
The Cool Wrap consists of green leaf lettuce, red cabbage, carrots, black beans, tomatoes, and corn – all wrapped up in a grilled flaxseed flatbread.
It is highly recommended to pair this vegan Cool Wrap with Chick-fil-A’s famous waffle fries and their Polynesian Sauce. Yum!
Other Nibbles And Beverages
There are a few super sides to order at Chick-fil-A that are vegan, but the most super of them all is their waffle fries.
For over three decades now, these waffle fries have been treating the general public with their crispy and savory goodness.
The waffle fries can be ordered all day, every day, and can be enjoyed solo or with any of the vegan options stated above.
They are the best-selling item on the menu and pair well with traditional ketchup or with BBQ, Polynesian, and their Sweet and Spicy Sriracha sauces.
Another killer side that you can enjoy from Chick-fil-A as a vegan is the Kale Crunch Side which is a great blend of curly kale, and green cabbage topped off with crunchy roasted almonds.
Just swap out the Apple Cider Vinaigrette Dressing with a vegan option, as it contains honey.
Another salad side that you can pick up is their Side Salad which is a mix of fresh greens, grape tomatoes, red bell peppers, with a choice of vegan dressing.
With the Side Salad, it is important to ask the restaurant to omit the cheese.
Other side or snack options that are vegan include the Buddy Fruits Apple Sauce which is under the Kid’s Meals section and Saltines which are the crackers from the soup section-none of the soups are vegan at the moment.
Vegan Dressings And Sauces
At Chick-fil-A, there are a wide array of dressings and sauces which are vegan.
These include their Ketchup, Mustard, and BBQ sauces.
Their most popular sauce, the Polynesian sauce, is also vegan, and you can expect sweet, peppery, and tomato-based flavors from this sauce.
Another sauce that is vegan, as mentioned earlier, is their Sweet and Spicy Sriracha sauce.
In terms of their dressings, the Light Balsamic Vinaigrette and Light Italian Vinaigrette Dressings are both vegan and go well with the salad and wrap options discussed above.
In terms of drink options, be wary of their cold coffee-based drinks as these all contain milk.
The hot coffee options are suitable for vegan consumption as well as their renowned Fresh Lemonade, which by the way, is made fresh every day.
Their Sweet Tea is some of the best in the South and is completely vegan.
Does Chick-Fil-A Offer Vegan Chicken?
Unfortunately, at the time of writing this article, there are currently no vegan chicken or plant-based substitutes for chicken, options on the Chick-fil-A menu.
However, with the surge of vegan food in the whole of the food industry, this is a probability in the near future.
Does Chick-Fil-A Have Vegan Desserts?
Unfortunately, at the time of writing this article, there are currently no vegan treat or dessert options on the Chick-fil-A menu.
Can I Eat WFPB (Whole Food Plant Based) At Chick-Fil-A?
Yes, however, your options are basically limited to their fruit cup as the other healthy options, like the Kale Crunch Side and vegan version of the Cool Wrap, both contain oil.
So, whether you are looking for a quick snack or a fulfilling meal, the vegan options at Chick-fil-A should do the trick. Also, don’t be afraid of asking for a combination of items to create a satisfying vegan meal.
- Should You Try The Industrial Vegan Lifestyle? - September 14, 2022
- DIY Impossible Burger 2.0: Homemade Recipe - September 13, 2022
- Going Vegan At Wendy’s: A Look At All Of tThe Vegan Friendly Dishes You Can Get At Wendy’s - September 10, 2022