Vegan Options At Jack In The Box

If you’re going to eat at Jack in the Box, you may want to find some vegan options. But the good news is that Jack in the Box offers plenty of options.

So if you’re going to Jack in the Box, we’ve made a comprehensive list of items you can order.

Vegan Options at Jack In The Box

But first, let’s tell you a bit more about what Jack in the Box is, especially if you’re new to buying at this restaurant.

About Jack In The Box

Jack in the Box is a fast-food chain that was first founded in the 1950s in San Diego. Since it opened in the 1950s, Jack in the Box has opened more restaurants around the country.

While you can find them in their native California, you can also find a Jack in the Box in these states:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • North Carolina
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington

As you can see, there are a number of locations where you would be able to find a Jack in the Box in your state.

Over the years, they have been committed to upgrading their business so you’ll be able to find them nationwide.

If you’ve never had Jack in the Box before, they’re well-known for their burgers, breakfasts, chicken dishes, tacos, and milkshakes.

But you may be wondering if there are any vegan options available on the menu for you or your family or friends.

Drinks Available At Jack In The Box

Drinks Available At Jack In The Box

Before you order your food, you’ll want to know what drinks you can have. The good news is that Jack in the Box has many beverages available for all customers, and the good news is vegans can drink them too.

Many of these drinks are available in all restaurants, so you’ll find that you can have any of these drinks anywhere. But what sodas can you expect to find at Jack in the Box?

  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Coca-Cola and Coke Zero
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange and Fanta Strawberry
  • Gold Peak Classic Blend Tea
  • Regular and Diet Jumpin’ Jack’s Splash
  • Mello Yello
  • Minute Maid Apple Juice, Orange Juice, and Lemonade
  • Powerade Mountain Blast
  • Sprite

All these drinks are popular worldwide, but if you’re looking for hot drinks, you may struggle.

When it comes to Jack in the Box’s coffee range, they won’t offer non-dairy creamer or plant-based milk substitutes.

However, you can still enjoy black coffee as both the regular and decaf options are vegan.

Now that you know what beverages you can drink let’s take a closer look at the vegan foods you can eat.

French Fries

Let’s start off with a classic side dish that everyone loves. The french fries available at Jack in the Box are available for vegans and vegetarians as they’re cooked in vegetable oil.

The seasoning used for French Fries is plant-based, so you don’t need to worry about it.

Seasoned Curly Fries

Like the french fries available at Jack in the Box, the seasoned curly fries have been designed so that they can also be ordered for vegetarian and vegan customers.

So if you want more than what french fries can offer you, seasoned curly fries may be better. None of the seasonings contains animal products and is fried in vegetable oil.

Hash Browns

Hash Browns

This breakfast product is also available for vegans and vegetarians. Hash browns don’t contain animal products and are also cooked in vegetable oil.

Unfortunately, this is the only vegan option available on the breakfast menu for vegans, as all of the other breakfast options contain animal products.

Potato Wedges

Finally, our last potato product on this list. The potato wedges are available for vegetarians and vegans, as they don’t contain any animal products in their recipe.

As with the other potato options on this list, they’re cooked in vegetable oil too.

Side Salad

The side salad is a popular vegan and vegetarian dish and probably one of the first dishes you consider when considering your options.

While you may need to make some minor adjustments to make it more vegan, that will simply mean you have to remove the croutons and ranch dressing.

The side salad is made from a mixture of iceberg and romaine lettuce, and they have cucumbers, carrots, and some grape tomatoes.

Overall, it’s an easy dish to modify if you want to have a completely vegan dish.

If you want a salad, it’s easier just to order a side salad, as many of the other salad options have chicken and cheddar cheese in their dish.

However, with the side salad, you won’t be missing out, and you can swap your ranch dressing for some balsamic vinaigrette instead.

Corn Sticks

One of the spicier options on the menu, you could easily add corn sticks to your side salad to give yourself a bit more flavor. These are a great option for a side and will give your taste buds more of a kick.

Corn sticks don’t contain any animal products, so they are good to enjoy.

Salsa, Fire Roasted

You may be wondering why salsa had been added to the menu, but these are simply some fire-roasted veg with added seasoning.

So if you want a tomato-based addition with a kick to it, you could include this dish with your side salad and corn sticks. There are no animal products included, so it won’t require any modifications to enjoy.

Teriyaki Rice Bowl

Last but not least, I suggest the teriyaki rice bowl. Of course, you will need to add some extra modifications to this dish to make it vegan friendly.

After all, the original teriyaki rice bowl has chicken as the main ingredient. However, the teriyaki sauce itself is vegan-friendly.

To enjoy this dish, ask at the counter to remove the chicken and include some extra veg.

It’s a better idea to ask at the counter as they’ll replace the chicken in your order with the vegetables, but if you use the app, they won’t remove the chicken removal price and will charge you extra.

So, you may want to order in-store for this dish.

Now you know which meals you can order at Jack in the Box, so you know that plenty of sides and other dishes are available.

Now that you know, you can go into Jack in the Box confidently about what foods you can order.

But before you worry about ordering your dishes, let’s look a bit more at the sauces you can have with your meal. After all, you may want some extra sauces with your fries.

Vegan Sauces At Jack In The Box

Vegan Sauces At Jack In The Box

Jack in the Box has a variety of vegan sauces available at their locations. If you were to ask for some sauce, you wouldn’t have to stick to basic sauces.

After all, the list I am about to mention has no animal ingredients in them, so feel free to choose any of these for your next meal out at Jack in the Box.

Vegan Sauce List

  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce
  • Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Sauce
  • French’s Mustard Sauce
  • Kikkoman Soy Sauce
  • Low-Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Regular and Hot Taco Sauce
  • Sweet ‘N’ Sour Dipping Sauce
  • Teriyaki Dipping Sauce and Regular Teriyaki Sauce
  • Tomato Ketchup

None of these products contain any animal products or dairy, and are eligible for all customers, vegan or vegetarian.

Vegetarian Options At Jack In The Box

I feel like I should also tell you that there are a number of vegetarian options available that you won’t be able to have if you’re a vegan.

But as part of this list, I’ll give you a rundown on what you can eat if you’re a vegetarian at Jack in the Box.

All of the previous options I’ve mentioned can be eaten by any vegetarian who comes into the restaurant, but there’s a few vegetarian options that can’t be eaten by vegans when you come here.

So let’s take a closer look at these.

Onion Rings

Due to the inclusion of milk used in the batter for the onion rings, this option is unavailable for any vegans reading this list. However, our vegetarian readers may still be able to enjoy some onion rings.

Stuffed Jalapeños

The stuffed jalapeños are unavailable for any vegan customers but are still an option for vegetarians who enjoy their spicy dishes.

They’re stuffed with cheese, and due to the amount of dairy in them, they’re unavailable for vegan customers.

Mini Pancakes

As a vegetarian option only, you can have some mini pancakes as a breakfast option at Jack in the Box.

Unfortunately, these contain milk and eggs and are therefore not an option for our vegan readers.

Jack In The Box Milkshakes

All of the Jack in the Box milkshakes are available for vegetarian customers at Jack in the Box, as they contain dairy, but they don’t contain meat.

So vegetarian customers can choose from chocolate, strawberry, vanilla, and oreo cookie milkshakes.

Mini Churros

Likewise for the milkshakes, mini churros are available for vegetarian customers but not for vegan customers. They are made with both egg and milk, so are unavailable for vegans.

New York Style Cheesecake

Vegetarian customers can enjoy New York style cheesecake, but unfortunately, vegan customers can not have them as they are made with eggs and milk.

Chocolate Overload Cake

The chocolate overload cake is available for vegetarian customers but not for vegan customers. This is because it contains both dairy and egg.

Jack in the Box contains numerous recipes that can be adjusted for vegetarian customers, but their vegan counterparts are considerably limited.

In terms of breakfast at Jack in the Box, vegetarian customers could request the croissants and biscuits to have the meat removed, while vegans will have to make do with hash browns for breakfast.

Will There Be Plant-Based Burger And Sandwich Options?

Back in the days of October 2020, the Unchicken Sandwich was revealed at certain test locations at Jack in the Box.

This sandwich was served as a limited offer, where along with plant-based meat, was made from vegan buns.

However, since then, it hasn’t been released nationwide, and it’s uncertain whether it will in the future.

Then, in October 2021, they decided to test out the Impossible Burger at a number of select locations in Phoenix. This would contain a plant-based beef patty and it would replace any beef patty with a plant-based item.

It appears that Jack in the Box is willing to experiment with new vegetarian and vegan options for their customers, so it’s best to keep an eye out for any news regarding new vegan and vegetarian items.

After all, the only way for these plant-based burgers to succeed is if the customer goes out and buys them in the right time frame.

Jack in the Box also allows suggestions from their customers, so it could be possible to contact them with any suggestions.

If there is a high enough demand, they may be more likely to see vegan and vegetarian options more on their menu.

While they also have a team behind their recipes, they do state on their website that they’re willing to listen to their customers’ suggestions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are There Any Vegan Desserts At Jack In The Box?

Unfortunately, there aren’t any desserts available for Jack in the Box’s vegan customer base. All milkshakes, cakes, and churros, are unavailable for vegan customers even if they are available for vegetarians.

Most of the desserts are made with dairy products and eggs, so you won’t be able to try out any of the desserts on your trip.

Can You Make The Tacos Vegan?

Unfortunately, the Jack in the Box tacos can’t be adjusted for vegetarian and vegan customers. All of the taco dishes made contain a mixture of chicken, beef, and Worcestershire sauce.

This means that neither the tacos or the mini tacos are vegetarian or vegan friendly, nor can they be successfully adjusted as they have no plant-based protein in them.

Is Jack In The Box Vegan-Friendly?

Compared to other fast-food restaurants, Jack in the Box is far more vegan-friendly than most.

They fry many of their dishes in vegetable oil which makes it easier to get some fries, and you can easily adjust certain items on the menu.

Final Thoughts

These are all the vegan and vegetarian options available at Jack in the Box.

As you can see, Jack in the Box have shown themselves to be willing to try out more vegan and vegetarian options for their customers but it is up to you to make sure they succeed.

As a successful fast food chain, Jack in the Box has a considerable selection of vegan and vegetarian options when compared to other chains in the industry.

By frying items in vegetable oil, they have made it a simpler task to enjoy basic dishes that would otherwise be fried in animal fat elsewhere.

Seeing how easy it is to modify your order, you shouldn’t have any trouble with finding any meals while you go out to eat with family and friends. So enjoy your next meal out at Jack in the Box!

Brett White
Latest posts by Brett White (see all)