You may think taking a vegan to a steakhouse is a terrible idea, but if you’re going there for a meal with friends and family, then it’s best to know what options are available. Thankfully, not everything at Texas Roadhouse is entirely filled with steaks.
You may be able to make your own vegan option at Texas Roadhouse. While you will need to make some adjustments and a significant amount of sides, it’s still possible to eat something while there.
Keep reading to find out more about how you can create your own vegan dishes using the side menu at Texas Roadhouse.
Finding Out What You Can Make Vegan
One major challenge to making your own vegan dishes at Texas Roadhouse. Unfortunately, they don’t provide a list of ingredients used in their foods, so you need to do some research before heading into their restaurant.
Luckily, there is a way to find out more. Using both Texas Roadhouse’s allergen guide and alternative online sources, you can figure out what you can add to your own vegan menu.
With the help of these, you can easily discover what you can change to create your own dish, but you may need to make some modifications first.
What Can You Request?
You can make some requests to change some of the dishes to make your order more vegan-friendly. While you won’t find any vegan starters, you may find that you can get several different sides and all drinks.
Many dishes available for you will be vegetables, and you may also request baked potatoes that can be adjusted to make them vegan.
Here is a list of your available dishes, and we’ll go into some further depth about what you can do to make them more vegan-friendly. Looking at the allergen menu, these are the items that you can have.
- Buttered Corn
- Fresh Vegetables
- House Salad
- Plain Baked Potato
- Plain Sweet Potato
- Sautéed Vegetables
- Vegan Sauces
- House Peanuts
- Country Vegetable Plate
Down below we have compiled a series of instructions for each option and what you may do to request your vegan options. But first, let’s discuss the options that you won’t need to modify.
Before you order any food in any restaurant, it’s expected that you know what drinks options are available.
The good news about Texas Roadhouse is all of their drinks options are vegan, however some of the cocktails sold at Texas Roadhouse are only available in some states, so you should check with the restaurant you’re visiting before you order.
Now before we delve into the cocktails, let’s go through a list of non-alcoholic drinks that you can order with your meal.
- Apple Juice
- Orange Juice
- Diet Coke
- Blue Crush Lemonade
- Minute Maid Lemonade
- Red Raspberry Lemonade
- Wild Strawberry Lemonade
- Sweetened and Unsweetened Original Iced Tea
- Sweetened and Unsweetened Peach Iced Tea
- Sweetened and Unsweetened Raspberry Iced Tea
- Hi-C Orange
- Hi-C Fruit Punch
- Regular and Decaffeinated Black Coffee
Many of these non-alcoholic options are popular across all states in America. If you aren’t a fan of black coffee, then coffee will be most likely off the menu for you.
However, many of these non-alcoholic drinks will be staples across all kinds of restaurants so you will still have numerous options to choose from.
- White Wine
- Red Wine
- Blueh Wine
Overall, the wine menu is standard for many restaurants in America. If you’d like a glass of wine with your meal while you’re out, you shouldn’t have any issues ordering.
Vegan Margarita Options
- 1800 Margarita
- The Legend Margarita
- Patron Margarita Kicker
These three options are unavailable frozen or on the rocks, however the rest of the items on this margarita menu are still available with frozen and on the rocks options.
- Original Margarita
- Hurricane Margarita
- Jamaican Cowboy Margarita
- Mango Margarita
- Raspberry Margarita
- Sangria Margarita
Vegan Cocktail Options
- Armadillo Punch
- Island Kicker
- Kenny’s Cooler
- Long Island Iced Tea
- Sangria Red
- Southern Whiskey Long Island Iced Tea
- Texas Peach Fuzz
- Top Shelf Long Island Iced Tea
These are all of the vegan cocktails available at Texas Roadhouse. As mentioned before, there is a possibility that they won’t all be available in some states, so you should check what options there are at your local Texas Roadhouse.
Texas Roadhouse is well-known for their complimentary peanuts which they serve in-shell for each and every customer. These are free of charge, and you can snack on them before or during your meal.
If you have vegetables, you can even add them so that they can have some extra crunch to them.
Country Vegetable Plate
The country vegetable plate won’t be a separate item available on the menu, but it does allow you to get four different side dishes.
As part of the country vegetable plate, you can choose any four dishes from the restaurant’s side menu.
Due to how many sides you’ll likely be ordering for your meal, the country vegetable plate could be one of your best options.
Vegan Sauces at Texas Roadhouse
One factor that won’t be fun about ordering vegan food at Texas Roadhouse is that it can be pretty boring. But you can add some extra flavor to your sides with a selection of vegan sauces and a few salad dressings.
While there isn’t a massive selection of sauces and dressings available, there are still a small number that you can choose from.
Your selection of vegan sauces are:
- Oil and Vinegar Dressing
- Texas Roadhouse Barbecue Sauce
With these options, you should be able to add a little bit of extra flavor to your meals without any issue.
Now that you’ve seen the selections you have to not worry about modifications, we can move onto dishes that you can ask to modify to add to your meal.
Now, this is one of the most obvious dishes for what you can request with a little modification. The answer to that is simply requesting it without butter.
You don’t have to make too many requests for this one, and your server will bring you some plain corn for you to have as part of your meal.
While you would think some fresh vegetables would immediately be classed as vegan by default, you would be wrong.
While Texas Roadhouse won’t tell us the ingredients used, its allergen guide does tell us that the fresh vegetables also contain milk.
With this in mind, we can assume that it contains steamed broccoli and that the carrots are sautéed in butter.
So, when you ask for your fresh vegetables to be modified, you can request that they don’t cook it with any butter.
While this may make the dish bland, you can add either some salt and pepper or some oil and vinegar dressing to make it more palatable to you.
A standard house salad can be found in any restaurant across the state, so you can expect some leafy greens, tomatoes, croutons, and some cheddar cheese.
However, at Texas Roadhouse, they will top your house salad with a hard-boiled egg. So, you will need to remove the cheddar cheese, the croutons, the egg, and the dressings.
The salad dressing options on the side include Ranch Honey Mustard, Italian Blue Cheese, Ranch Low-Fat and Thousand Island, but unfortunately you can’t have any of these with it.
The good news is that you can request some oil and vinegar dressing alongside it. With the oil and vinegar dressing, you’ll be able to add a bit more flavor to your greens and tomatoes.
Plain Baked Potato (And Sweet Potato)
I feel I should put a disclaimer on the baked potato options very quickly and state that they’re not actually vegan, but you can request that they be made in a manner that will make them vegan.
Here’s a brief explanation of how the baked potatoes are made and what options they have.
See, the baked potato and the sweet potato have two different types, either plain or loaded. The loaded option is definitely not vegan.
See, neither of these options are actually vegan, as when they’re made the potatoes and sweet potatoes are coated with bacon grease before they go in the oven.
However, you might be lucky and be able to request that they make it without bacon grease.
Unfortunately, this may not be a solid option for some customers.
As the baked potatoes are made ready beforehand it may be difficult for them to accommodate you unless you are willing to wait for a fresh batch of baked potatoes.
So, if you would like this option, it would be best to consider this before you think that this will be your order for your meal.
If you don’t want some fresh vegetables, you could try to choose some sautéed options instead.
While the sautéed option is classified as vegan-friendly in some sources, you should keep in mind that on the Texas Roadhouse allergen guide, it has been stated that they contain milk.
So, it’s likely they are sautéed in butter, so depending on how they are made, you may want to request that they don’t include butter when they cook sautée sauce.
So make sure that you request this when they cook your sautéed vegetables, and you should be able to enjoy more flavor to your meal.
Texas Roadhouse Non-Vegan Options That Look Vegan
When you’re looking at the menu, you may think that there are a selection of options that are vegan but unfortunately, they are not.
Here is a list of the items that may confuse you when you look at the menu, but we’ll tell you exactly how they aren’t vegan and why you can’t order them.
- Bread Rolls
- Cactus Blossom
- Cajun Horseradish Sauce
- Creole Mustard Sauce
- Fried Pickles
- Green Beans
- Green Chile Sauce
- Hot Sauce
- Italian Dressing
- Mashed Potato
- Mild Sauce
- Peppercorn Sauce
- Portobello Mushroom Sauce
- Seasoned Rice
Now, let’s go into a little bit more detail about these options and why they aren’t vegan. After all, you don’t want to accidentally buy these dishes and get disappointed by them.
Bread rolls are freshly made at every Texas Roadhouse location and are served to each customer before their meals arrive. When they arrive, they will come with cinnamon butter to coat the bread rolls with.
Unfortunately, the bread rolls aren’t vegan because they contain milk and egg.
While sources may differ on how these bread rolls are made, you will notice that they contain non-vegan ingredients and won’t be accessible to you.
A cactus blossom is an onion blossom recipe that is unfortunately not vegan. This is because the batter which coats the onion contains egg and milk, thus you won’t be able to enjoy this dish.
Cajun Horseradish Sauce
You won’t be able to have cajun horseradish sauce if you’re vegan as egg and milk are both used when making it.
Creole Mustard Sauce
The creole mustard sauce isn’t vegan, as egg is used when making this sauce.
Fried pickles are a popular dish at Texas Roadhouse, and are sliced pickles coated in batter. Unfortunately, this starter isn’t vegan as the batter used to coat the pickles contains both egg and milk.
Now, fries are an option that will depend entirely on your own preferences as a vegan.
While Texas Roadhouse’s allergen guide doesn’t state that the fries contain any vegan ingredients, it doesn’t mean that they are.
Texas Roadhouse doesn’t classify their fries as vegan because of how they are made.
When the fries are cooked in the fryer, it’s the same one used for both chicken and fish, and are also claimed to be cooked in animal fat.
However, this will entirely depend on the restaurant, so you can enquire as to how they are cooked.
So you will need to confirm with your local restaurant to see if they are cooked in animal fat or if they are cooked in shared equipment.
The decision to eat them will solely depend on your own preferences and how they are cooked.
Green beans are one of Texas Roadhouse’s more mysterious recipes. While their website won’t tell you how they’re prepared, there are some online sources that claim the green beans are cooked in a ham broth.
With this in mind, it could be said that green beans are not a vegan-friendly option for you.
Green Chile Sauce
The green chile sauce is made with milk in its recipe and because of this, it is not vegan.
According to Texas Roadhouse’s allergen guide, the hot sauce contains both fish and milk, and is therefore not vegan.
Surprisingly, Texas Roadhouse’s allergen guide states that the italian dressing is actually made with fish. Due to this, the italian dressing is not vegan.
When it comes to Texas Roadhouse, you may be surprised that their mashed potatoes may not even be vegetarian. There are some sources online that claim it is cooked with chicken stock.
We already know that according to the Texas Roadhouse allergen guide that they are cooked with milk, so by that default they would not be vegan even if they may be cooked with chicken stock.
According to the Texas Roadhouse allergen guide, the mild sauce is made with fish and milk included in the recipe.
You won’t be able to have peppercorn sauce as unfortunately the recipe does contain milk according to the allergen guide.
Portobello Mushroom Sauce
The portobello mushroom sauce is not vegan due to the recipe containing milk.
Unfortunately Texas Roadhouse doesn’t mention how the seasoned rice is prepared, but according to the allergen menu, we know that it does contain milk.
To add to this, according to some online sources, the seasoned rice may also be cooked in a chicken broth.
As you can see, from a first glance you may assume that these items will be vegan, but that is not the case.
However, in the case of the fries, I would also check how they are made at the restaurant to know more about how they are cooked.
Are There Vegan Desserts?
Texas Roadhouse doesn’t actually have a very wide range of desserts available, and unfortunately, none of these options are vegan.
If you would like a dessert, it may be your best option to request that you and your friends or family stop elsewhere to have one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Texas Roadhouse Vegan-Friendly?
Ultimately, Texas Roadhouse isn’t vegan-friendly as even foods you would normally think are vegan are cooked in animal fat.
Are Texas Roadhouse Baked Potatoes Vegan?
They can be made vegan if you specially request for them to be made without bacon grease.
However, you will need to wait longer for your food and it’s not guaranteed. Most baked potatoes are made in a batch, so it is dependent on your restaurant and location.
Are There Vegan Meals?
Most of the vegan options available at Texas Roadhouse are sides that have been prepared slightly differently from how they usually would be.
If you’re looking for a specific meal or starter, it’s unlikely that you will find it at Texas Roadhouse.
Does Texas Roadhouse have a Veggie Burger?
Currently, Texas Roadhouse doesn’t offer a veggie burger, nor are they likely to offer one in the future.
Texas Roadhouse specializes in meat dishes, and they use animal fat in a great deal of their sides, so you need to make specific requests when you ask for your order.
Are There Vegetarian Options?
Unfortunately, even vegetarian options are limited at Texas Roadhouse. They use animal products in the majority of their dishes, and you will need to request them to be made differently if you would like any vegan or vegetarian options.
Now that I’ve discussed the options available to you, you may be wondering if Texas Roadhouse is a particularly vegan-friendly option for you and your friends.
Ultimately, because of its title as a steakhouse, you should not expect it to be vegan-friendly. In fact, you should expect the opposite, as it relies heavily on meat-based options.
However, that isn’t to say that they couldn’t make it more friendly. Having a separate fryer for fries and using non-dairy and non-meat ingredients.
After all, there are numerous options that are now accessible, and they could increase their audience base by modifying their recipes to adjust for vegan consumers.
The options they have available are limited, and if you do go there, you will be disappointed by what they have.
If you do go to Texas Roadhouse you should know what you can eat. With this in mind, remember this isn’t the most vegan-friendly restaurant to go to.
- Can You Eat Sunflower Seeds And Pumpkin Seeds Together? - December 19, 2022
- Vegan Traeger Recipes for Beginners - November 22, 2022
- Is Caviar Vegetarian? - November 3, 2022